Volunteer with Us

Volunteer with Community Futures Cowichan

At Community Futures Cowichan, we have supported economic development in the Cowichan Region since 1987. We help businesses start and expand and we get involved in economic and community development projects. As a not-for-profit corporation, our strength comes from our volunteer Board and Committees.

If you have a background or interest in small business development, finance, economic and social development OR if you care about helping create a bright economic future for our community, then we are looking for someone like you!

Board of Directors

Florie Varga

Board Chair

Florie has more than 25 years' professional consulting and entrepreneurial experience. She openly offers her knowledge, skills, and tools to both clients and the organizations she supports.

Florie believes that what makes a creative life, business or career thrive is the passion that drives it - and aligning that passion with your unique style of personal leadership,

Victor Gamble
Matthew Huotari
Janice John-Mitchell
Koren Palmer
Shannon Roome

Contact Cathy Robertson, General Manager, at 250-746-1004 to discuss volunteer opportunities.

Committee Members

Business Development Committee

  • Matthew Huotari, Chair
  •  Kevin Gamble
  •  Shannon Roome
  • Al Jackson
  • Janice John-Mitchell

Finance & Audit Committee

  • Victor Gamble, Chair
  • Florie Varga (Ex-Officio)

Executive Committee

  • Florie Varga, Chair
  • Victor Gamble, Treasurer and Finance & Audit Committee Chair
  • Matthew Huotari, Business Development Committee Chair

Governance Committee

  • Florie Varga
Victor Gamble
Volunteer of the Year 2022 - 2023

Victor Gamble

Victor joined the Community Futures Cowichan Board in 2016 and became the Treasurer in 2020.

Victor was born in Winnipeg and raised in the Cowichan Valley where he graduated from Cowichan Secondary. He is a Chartered Professional Accountant and owns an accounting firm in Duncan with his son. He is an effective team builder and is known for mentoring juniors and small businesses. Victor has previously volunteered his accounting services at the Duncan Curling Club and Cowichan Golf and Country Club.

When not behind the desk helping clients, you can find him behind a curling rock competing in major curling events.

Previous Members of the Year

  • 2022: Florie Varga
  • 2021: Moira Hauk
  • 2020: Janna Jorgensen
  • 2019: Dana Thorne
  • 2018: Sarah Morden
  • 2017: Ronnie Doman
  • 2016: Mark Marcil
  • 2015: Bob Annis
  • 2014: Sheila Service
  • 2013: Mike Evans
  • 2012: Dave Jackson
  • 2011: Greg Clifford
  • 2010: Gordon Holyer
  • 2009: Geoff Millar
  • 2008: Tek Manhas
  • 2007: Doug Allan